top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDr. Melanie Adkins

How did I get here?

Part 1


I decided I wanted to be an Educational Psychologist at the age of 17 years, whilst studying for A’levels. I still have the fact page on the career path. The problem was that I could not do Psychology A’level at my current school. I was doing Sociology A’level instead, which I loved! However, I was aware that I just wanted to get on with it and learn all about the Psychology of children.


The career path involved completing teacher training and then two years of teaching before embarking on the MSc in Educational Psychology. The other problem was that at this time, 1994, National Curriculum subjects were preferred for teaching as opposed to Psychology or Sociology. I applied for a BEd in English and Drama at Kingston University. Located at the Kingston Hill campus, this was the location of an original teacher training college and also had a fabulous Drama curriculum. At this time, I was a frustrated dancing teacher and actress, who had never had that big break. This choice fitted me perfectly.


17 views0 comments
bottom of page